Artista: Olden Yolk
Álbum: Olden Yolk LP
Sello: Trouble In Mind Records
De: New York
Género: Indie Folk

Olden Yolk

Olden Yolk is a New York-based group whose penchant for dystopian folk, abstract poeticism, and motorik rhythms have enveloped them in a sound uniquely of-the-moment yet simultaneously time-tested. The project is currently led by songwriters, vocalists, and multi- instrumentalists Shane Butler and Caity Shaffer, whose interlaced vocals are found guiding each composition on their enlivening self-titled debut. The project was initially conceived in 2012 by Butler as an outlet for one-off songs and visual art while touring and releasing albums with the band Quilt (Mexican Summer). Following the release of a split-record with Weyes Blood in 2014, Olden Yolk became a collaborative entity.

Olden Yolk’s debut ruminates on questions surrounding love, self-doubt, and locating autonomy amidst burgeoning unrest. Wrought with hazy melancholy and halcyon joy, Butler and Shaffer’s lilting vocals play off one another through a devotional dialogue, taking form in haunting choral melodies and candid rock n’ roll. These songs are ecstatic odes to the life of the city; to the subway platforms, kiosks, and monuments which enliven and encompass our collectivity, elevating into an urban-psychedelia.

On the album, Butler and Shaffer are joined by drummer Dan Drohan (Tei Shi, Uni Ika Ai) and guitarist Jesse DeFrancesco who round out the studio sessions and live-band. Drohan’s deep passion for jazz, hip-hop, and experimental percussion come to fore while Defrancesco’s minimal yet powerful guitar ambiences are heard swelling in the peripheries of each song. The album was recorded at Gary’s Electric in NYC by Jarvis Taveniere (Woods) with co-production, electronics, and mixing by Jon Nellen (Ginla, Terrible Records). Other guests, such as multi-instrumentalist John Andrews (Woods, Quilt, The Yawns) and violinist Jake Falby (Mutual Benefit, Julie Byrne), add to the mercurial nature of the record, creating a landscape tinged with beatific songwriting and transgressive underpinnings.

RIYL: The Clientele, Nap Eyes, Cate Le Bon, Yo La Tengo, Fresh & Onlys, Quilt, Ultimate Painting


released February 23, 2018

All songs written & recorded by Olden Yolk (ASCAP)

Olden Yolk is:
Shane Butler:
vocals, acoustic guitar, electric guitar, fx, keys, bass, production
Caity Shaffer:
vocals, piano, keys, bass, percussion
Dan Drohan:
drums, percussion
Jesse Defrancesco:
electric guitar, keys

additional instrumentation by:
John Andrews:
piano & vocals (2, 4, 5, 7, 10)
Jake Falby:
violins & viola (3, 4, 7)
Jon Nellen:
tapes, synths, drum machine

“Aria” performed by John Andrews

Recorded at Gary’s Electric NYC by Jarvis Taveniere, with assistance from Robert Aceto

Additional recording at Black Lodge NYC by Jon Nellen
Produced by Olden Yolk & Jon Nellen
Mixed by Jon Nellen
Mastered by Mikey Young

Album art:
Sculptures by Larry Robin
Cover photo by Paul Hogan
Back photo by Daniel Dorsa
Layout by Shane Butler

Sigue a Olden Yolk en Bandcamp // YouTube // Instagram // Twitter // Facebook